Image result for ai weiwei prison interment

My simple yet rigorous daily schedule was as follows:

  • Every morning I got up at 6:30am, after which I had twenty minutes to wash, dress, and brush my teeth.
  • 7:30am was morning exercises, which consisted of walking back and forth across the six large floor-tiles of my room. My every movement was performed while clinched between two policemen. They maintained a constant distance of 80 centimeters from me – no more, no less.
  • 7:40am was breakfast: two small plastic bags of milk, an egg, and one and a half steamed buns. Three kinds of pickled vegetables and cold dishes. I was given twenty minutes to eat, including washing up afterwards.
  • At 8am, after a change of guards, I had an hour of exercise time: repetitive pacing.
  • From 9am to 11:40am Reflection time. I was interrogated about my “problems”.
  • Lunch was a half hour from 11:40am to 12:10pm. After lunch was another hour of exercise: pacing.
  • 1:30pm to 2:30pm: afternoon nap.
  • 2:30pm to 5:40pm: the second round of interrogation about my “problems”.
  • 5:40pm was dinner. They served my food to me in a plastic box. I was given a spoon, but no chopsticks.
  • 6pm: Another hour of exercise.
  • 7pm to 9pm was study time, during which I was meant to write confessions.
  • 9pm: half an hour of exercise.
  • After 9:30pm I could reserve shower time, upon request to the duty guard. Everyday I spent ten minutes washing that day’s socks and underwear, taking a shower afterwards. Twenty minutes altogether, all of it spent with a soldier standing guard very near by.
  • At 10pm, the guard on duty gave the punctual order to get in bed and lie down.

Image result for ai weiwei prison interment

Read Weiwei’s ‘Letter of Separation’ to his young son, part of the Art Angel Inside: Artists and Writers in Reading Prison project, here.

 

